year-long photographic experiment shooting clouds everyday

Archive for April, 2011

Extra Storm Images, Frisco TX – 4-25-11

I posted 2 images from our incredible storm that blew though Frisco, TX yesterday. One I believed to be a tornado forming on the front edge of the wall cloud and in the middle of the storm, a very powerful Cumulonimbus wall cloud I watched the incoming wall cloud rotating and pick up speed as it approached. The temperature dropped about 20 degrees in only seconds and it started to rain large raindrops when I took the sequence below, right after I witnessed the funnel cloud. You can see remnants of it in the first 2 images. I wish now I would have filmed or shot a time lapse. This progression only took a couple of mins. I had to get out of there!


Clouds 365 Project is a Webby Awards Finalist!

I am very happy to announce that the Clouds 365 Project has been nominated for The 15th Annual Webby Awards in the Personal Blog/Website category. This is the second year in a row the project has been a finalist! The other finalists in this category are amazing, I am honored!

As a nominee, the Clouds 365 Project is also eligible to win a Webby People’s Voice Award, which is voted online by the global Web community. From now until April 28th 2011, Clouds 365 Project fans can vote online to help the Clouds 365 Project win the internet’s top honor.

It is easy to vote. For the first time, the voting public can sign in to the Webby People’s Voice site at using your Facebook login. Make your voice heard! Help the Clouds 365 Project and get to the polls to vote! Click here for the direct link to the ballot

Webby Award and Webby People’s Voice Award Winners will be announced on May 3, 2011. Winners will be honored at the 15th Annual Webby Awards in New York City on June 13, 2011

The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 650-person judging academy whose members include Internet co-inventor Vinton Cerf, R/GA’s Chief Bob Greenberg, “Simpson’s” creator Matt Groening, Arianna Huffington, and Harvey Weinstein.

About The Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile web sites. Established in 1996, the 13th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Microsoft Expression; Aol; YouTube; Pepsi; Aquent; Yahoo!; Tribal DDB Worldwide; East Media; IDG; PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail; Museum of the Moving Image; Behance; Business Insider and Time Out New York.